Draft Minutes

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

FACULTY SENATE

February 9, 2010 GEB A304

Members present (n=42): Airee, Anita; Baselski, Vicki; Bee, Tiffany; Bessoff, Joel; Bowman, Beth; Brown, Lawrence; Buolamwini, John; Callaway, Joseph; Canada, Robert; Cole, F. Hammond; Collins, Leilani; Cook, George; Cunningham, Patricia; Donaldson, Martin; Dopico, Alejandro; Freire, Amando; Hamilton, David; Harrison, Janet; Hartig, Peg; Heck, Detlef; Jablonski, Monica; Jennings, Lisa; Johnson, Eldridge; Johnson, Karen; Lazarus, Edward; Lewis, Maurice; McDonald, Michael; Nolen, Ann; Nollan, Richard; Norris, Tommie; Olson, Karen; Patterson, Anthony Lynn; Tayabeh, Pourmotabbed; Richey, Phyllis; Schoumacher, Robert; Senogles, Susan; Smith, Richard; Stein, Sidney; Suttle, Parker D.; Wetzel, Glenn; Wilson, Thad; Zucker-Levin, Audrey

Academic Affairs Representative: Scheid, Cheryl

Guest: Myers, Linda; Ross, Linda

Members absent (n=37): Adkins, Ronald; Baddour, Harry; Bromley, Howard; Burchum, Jacqueline; Cowan, Patricia; Crim, Susan; DeBon, Maggie; Dickerson, Rolland; Dowsing-Adams, Cecilia; Dugdale, Marion; Edmonson, Allen; English, Allesa; Fan, Zheng; Harris, Edward; Hicks, Wyenona; Hoehn, Mary Ellen; Howard-Thomas, Amanda; Jones, Terreia; Kelly, Brian; Kitabchi, Abbas; Matthew, Alexander; McKeon, Leslie; Naida, Abubakar; Neely-Barnes, Susan; Nolly, Rob; Parfenova, Helena; Rawal, Yeshwant; Re, Fabio; Reynolds, Rebecca; Samant, Sandeep; Thomas, Edwin; Timmons, Shelly; Wang, Junling; Webb, Sherry; Williams, April; Woodworth, Bruce; Zafar, Nadeem.

Pre- Meeting Presentation:

Brad Terhune, ITS customer technical support, discussed the domain change that will take effect March 1, 2010. The request to change the UTHSC domain name was sent to Educause (the organization that regulates domain names for educational institutions). March 1, 2010 was the date set by Educause as the deadline for the change.

ITS department has set up many workshops and educational links to assist you with this change. There will be Friday workshops from 12-3in the 930 Madison lobby. Bring your hand held devices and laptops for assistance. There is also helpful information that can be found on the website at:

<u>www.uthsc.edu/domainchange</u>. Included is a domain name change checklist. If you have additional questions you may ask the ITS department by contacting them by e-mail or phone. <u>helpdesk@uthsc.edu</u>; bterhune@uthsc.edu; 448-2851.

Call to order the meeting was called to order at 4:05 pm

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the 1.12.10 faculty senate meeting were reviewed and approved.

Announcements:

Chancellor Search Committee

Dr. Arnold Postlethwaite was added to the chancellors search committee. Nominations have been made and they are being received by the Parker executive search firm. If you would like to nominate someone, contact someone on the search committee.

Vice Chancellor for Research

The search for vice chancellor for research is a UT system internal search. The search will be open until Feb 10, 2010. The committee includes:

Dick Gourley (chair) Karen Johnson Matt Ennis Chris Norsap Mona Wicks Tony Ferraro Parker Suttle

If an outstanding candidate is not found, a national search will be initiated. There are currently 5-6 candidates and the next meeting is February 13.

UFC meeting with President Simek-January 25.

The timeline for the Presidential search was discussed. The goal is to fill the position by October 2010. Governors Special Session on Education Reform

Legislation was proposed to change the general education requirements and allow transfer of credits among state institutions. University compensation will be based on graduation rates rather than enrollment rates. The UTHSC campus has a 95-99% graduation rate; the governors' proposal will emphasize undergraduate education and thus may not effect UTHSC.

New Business

Faculty Handbook Review

Section 5:

Section 5 was presented to the FS. Senator Schoumacher made a motion to approve the section as written. This was seconded by Senator Richard Nollan. Section 5 was briefly discussed and approved by unanimous vote.

Section 4.13

Section 4.13 addresses faculty initiated changes in clinical practice site. Section 4 was approved without section 4.13. Section 4.13 was sent to the Clinical Affairs Committee and was revised to consider faculty comments. The Office of General Council made a few changes. The FSEC, Clinical Affairs Committee and the OGC have all approved the section. Without this section there are no specific guidelines for a faculty member to follow when they want to make a change in their clinical practice. Section 4.13 provides guidelines/procedures by which a clinical faculty member can follow to make a change in their clinical practice site. Senator Schoumacher commented that in the past Faculty members have not understood the process to make the change leading to legal action. Karen Johnson made a motion to accept section 4.13 into the approved section 4 of the handbook. This was seconded by Peg Hartig. Discussion followed including the definition of clinical practice affiliation: if part of your salary is derived from faculty practice and your chair has control, it is a clinical practice affiliation.

A hand vote was taken with the following results:

Approve: 26 Deny: 8 Abstain: 3

The motion to include section 4.13 into section 4 of the faculty handbook was passed.

Items in Progress will be addressed in the next faculty senate meeting

Adjournment The meeting adjourned at 5:20 pm

Upcoming meetings

February 16 – FSEC and Committee Chairs with Chancellor Schwab 8:00am Hyman 101 March 4 – FSEC – 8:00 Hyman 101 March 9 – UTHSC Faculty Senate – 3:30 GEB 304.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Audrey Zucker-Levin 4/16/10; reviewed and approved 5/11/2010.