Minutes

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

FACULTY SENATE

September 8, 2009 GEB A304

Members present (n=43): Baddour, Harry; Baselski, Vicki; Buolamwini, John; Bowman, Beth; Callaway, Joseph; Canada, Robert; Cole, F. Hammond; Collins, Leilani; Cowan, Patricia; Cook, George; Crim, Susan; Cunningham, Patricia; Dickerson, Rolland; Dopico, Alejandro; Fan, Zheng; Hamilton, David; Harris, Edward; Hartig, Peg; Heck, Detlef; Hicks, Wyenona; Howard-Thompson, Amanda; Jennings, Lisa; Johnson, Eldridge; Johnson, Karen; Kelly, Brian P.; Lazarus, Edward; Lewis, Maurice; Norris, Tommie; Olson, Karen; Patterson, Anthony Lynn; Reynolds, Rebecca; Richey, Phyllis; Schoumacher, Robert; Senogles, Susan; Smith, Richard; Stein, Sidney; Suttle, Parker D.; Tekell, Lisa; Wang, Junling; Webb, Sherry; Wetzel, Glenn; William, April; Wilson, Thad; Zucker-Levin, Audrey.

Academic Affairs Representative: Cheryl Scheid, Dianna Johnson Guest: Via teleconference: Anita Airee

Members absent (n=48): Adkins, Ronald; Baker, Alison Barnes; Bee, Tiffany; Bessoff, Joel; Brown, Lawrence; Burchum, Jacqueline; DeBon, Maggie; Donaldson, Martin; Dugdale, Marion; Dowsing-Adams, Cecilia; Edmonson, Allen; Edwards-Thomas, Nona; English, Allesa; Freire, Amado; Golanka, Stephen; Harrison, Janet; Harvey, Margaret; Hoehn, Mary Ellen; Jablonski, Monica; Jones, Terreia; Kitabchi, Abbas; Lee, Richard; McDonald, Michael; McKeon, Leslie; Midtling, John; Neudeck, Brian; Nolland, Richard; Nolly, Rob; Oswaks, Jill; Parfenova, Helena; Pourmotabbed, Tayabeh; Rawal, Yeshwant; Re, Fabio; Samant, Sandeep; Simmons, Catherine; Thomas, Edwin; Timmons, Shelly; Woodworth, Bruce; Yataco, Jose; Zafar, Nadeem

FS Business Meeting

Call to Order: President Suttle called the meeting to order at 4:00PM.

Chancellor Wall spent some time reflecting on the past few years.

In September of 2005 Dr. Hank Herrod stepped down as Dean in the College of Medicine and Pat Wall stepped in as Interim Dean appointed by then Chancellor Owen. Eighteen months later, Chancellor Owen left and President Petersen asked Pat Wall to become Interim Chancellor and then permanent Chancellor. Chancellor Wall expressed that he did this because of an obligation to the university. At that time there were 3 Dean positions and many chair positions open. The following were achievements accomplished during his tenure as Chancellor:

- Recruiting a new Dean to the college of Dentistry
- Dealing with a "financial tsunami" where state revenues significantly decreased and permanent financial cuts to UTHSC were put in place.
- A change in the way the previous Chancellor governed with frequent meeting with the Deans
- Re-building bridges with neighboring institutions including the University of Memphis and St. Jude.
- Communication with the local business community and with Tennessee leadership.
- Completion of the strategic plan to align with the state strategic plan format
- Completion of a master campus facility plan including a state of the art research facility and a clinical practice building.

• Developing a plan for dealing with permanent reductions in state appropriations.

Chancellor Wall will be stepping down as Chancellor and Dr. Steve Schwab will become the new Interim Chancellor effective October 1. A national search will begin immediately. Chancellor Wall thanked the Faculty Senate for all of their assistance and looks forward to working with them in the future.

Approval of Minutes:

June 9, 2009 Faculty Senate Meeting was approved.

Announcements:

Campus Committee Appointments: Honorary Degree Committee: There are three new members on the Honorary Degree Committee: Peg Hartig Nancy Williams Janet Pearson

Library Advisory Committee: Nonie Hicks was nominated by the FSEC and accepted the nomination as a FS representative to the library advisory committee

Chancellor's Search Committee:

President Simek requested nominations for faculty representatives on the chancellors search committee. Please submit your nominations to Audrey Zucker- Levin by September 14, 2009.

BoT meeting on Effectiveness and Efficiency for the Future:

The group met September 3. Dr. Ken Brown will be asked to attend the Pre-Faculty Senate meeting in October to provide an update on the budget cuts and facility plans.

Report on TUFS position paper fro the Executive Committee:

Representatives from 10 BOT and Board of Regents schools met in Nashville to develop a position paper on the potential re-organization of higher education in the state of Tennessee. The TUFS organization wanted the FS of each institution to approve the paper as written, no amendments. The UTHSC FSEC read this paper and thought it was premature and over-reaching in its content. The FSEC voted 7 to 2 AGAINST endorsement of the position paper. It was presented to the FS for brief discussion.

Reports of Committees:

A motion to approve the committee goals was made, seconded and approved by unanimous vote.

New Business:

Faculty Handbook Committee

The faculty senate approved the revision to the faculty handbook. It was sent to the office of general council who made some further suggestions. The handbook will be presented to the FS for final approval in a proposed schedule:

Handbook review by FS October 13— Section 8 and appendices November 10— Sections 4 & 5 December 8 — Section 6 and Faculty Evaluation Manual January 12 — Anything else or additional revisions
If we can work on this schedule, it will get the handbook to the February 25, 26 BOT meeting for approval.
Postdoctoral Fellows Handbook
Please examine the Post doctoral Fellows handbook for next months FS meeting.
Upon discussion, Dr. Dianna Johnson agreed to re-format it to improve the flow.

The meeting adjourned at 5:15. <u>Upcoming Meetings:</u> September 15 FSEC and Committee Chairs with Chancellor Wall 8:00 am Hyman 101 October 1 FSEC 8:00am Hyman 101 October 7 UFC Knoxville October 8 &9 UT Board of Trustees, Knoxville October 13, UTHSC Faculty Senate 3:30, Dr. Ken Brown, GEB 304. For Distance Participation call 1-877-374-0018

Minutes respectfully submitted by Audrey Zucker-Levin Secretary Treasurer on 9.14.09, approved 10.13.2009.