Minutes

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

FACULTY SENATE

March 11, 2014 GEB A204

Members present (n= 31) Matthew Allman; Bob Belland; Ashanti Braxton; Eddie Burton; Joseph Callaway; Harris L. Cohen; Terry Cooper; Andrea Elberger; Richard Ian Gray; Weikuan Gu; David Hamilton; Maurice Lewis; Michael McDonald; Ann Nolen; Elena Parfenova; Susan Patton; Jeff Phebus; Raj Raghow; Cherly Scott; Tim Self; Jami Smith; Cheryl Stegbauer; Jeff Steketee; Thomas, Fridtjof; Antheunis Versluis; Sherry Webb; Russell Wicks; Richard Williams; Wes Williamson; Thad Wilson, Zhaohui Wu

Academic Affairs Representative: Cheryl Scheid; Cindy Russell

Members absent (n= 50) Anita Airee; Sarka Beranova; Ginna Betts; Howard Bromley; Steven Buckingham; Lucy Bruijn; James Christian; F. Hammond Cole; George Cook; Robert Craft; Melody Cunningham; Maggie DeBon, Alicia Diaz-Thomas; Heather Draper; Eldon Geisert; Elvira Gosmonova; Oscar Grandas; Brenda Green; Marie Hatten; Stacey Headley; Hong, Song Hee; Mohammad Kashif Ismail; Lisa Jennings; Patti Johnstone; Vijaya Joshi; Anastasios Karydis; Brian P, Kelly; Victor Kolad; Santhosh Koshy; Sajeesh Kumar; Edward Lazarus, Chris Ledbetter; Michael Levin; Donna Lynch-Smith; Dan Martin; Alexander Matthew; Ann Michael; Robert Nolly; Vernon Pennington; Merry Sebelik; Pat Speck; Christina A. Spivey; Elaine Stegman; Stephanie Storgion; Ajay Talati; Jim Wan; Junling Wang; Christopher Water; JM (Mack) Worthington; Jie Zhang

Guests (n-0)

- A. Thad Wilson, Past President of the Faculty Senate, called the Meeting to Order at 4:09 am
- B. Approval of Minutes with change.
- C. Agenda-

Election of President-Elect- Dr. Martin Donaldson put forth as Nominee for President Elect 2014.

Thad Wilson suggested use of the clicker in lieu of paper ballot. A motion was made, seconded and passed to use clickers in the voting.

1. Vote to elect Dr. Donaldson as President Elect Dr. Donaldson received 97% (30 yes, 1 abstain) of votes and will serve as the President Elect of the Senate until June when he will become Faculty Senate President.

2. B&B Resolution-Andrea Elberger

The resolution to have a minimum 3% across the board raise allotted to all faculty with any additional monies going toward merit was discussed and amended to add "over the last six years the average was 1.17%." The vote passed with 85% (27) in favor.

D. Committee Reports

Budget and Benefits Committee-Andrea Elberger

Parking and safety issues after inclement weather closing discussed.

Clinical Affairs Committee-Ajay Talati

No Report

Education and Academic Affairs-

No Report.

Faculty Afairs Committee-Terry Cooper

FSEC doing review on Faculty Handbook, working to combine parts one and two into a single document.

Faculty Research Committee-Chris Waters

No Report

Faculty Computing Committee-Bob Belland

Addressing fade of Windows XP, including ways to restrict and protect users.

Legislative Resource Committee-Matt Allman

The Committee met with liaison of legislation and discussed fallout from 'sex week.' Legislation in progress which will have ramifications for this campus.

E. Announcements-Thad Wilson

None

F. Thad Wilson adjourned the meeting at 4.46 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Ann H. Nolen Secretary and Treasurer, UTHSC Faculty Senate