Minutes

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

FACULTY SENATE

April 8, 2014 GEB A204

Members present (n= 38) Anita Airee; Matthew Allman; Sarka Beranova; Bob Belland; Steven Buckingham; Lucy Bruijn; James Christian; Harris L. Cohen; George Cook; Terry Cooper; Melody Cunningham; Martin Donaldson; Andrea Elberger; Richard Ian Gray; Brenda Green; Weikuan Gu; Marie Hatten; Song Hee Hong; Sajeesh Kumar; Maurice Lewis; Ann Nolen; Jeff Phebus; Lisa Rinsdale; Tim Self; Pat Speck; Christina A. Spivey; Cheryl Stegbauer; Jeff Steketee; Stephanie Storgion; Ajay Talati; Fridtjof Thomas; Antheunis Versluis; Christopher Waters; Sherry Webb; Richard Williams; Wes Williamson; Thad Wilson; Zhaohui Wu; Jie Zhang;

Members absent (n= 44) Ashanti Braxton; Howard Bromley; Eddie Burton; Joseph Callaway; Hammond F. Cole; Robret Craft; Maggie DeBon; Alicia Diaz-Thomas; Heather Draper; Eldon Geisert; Elvira Gosmonova; Oscar Grandas; David Hamilton; Stacey Headley; Mohammad Kashif Ismail; Lisa Jennings; Patti Johnstone; Vijaya Joshi; Anastasios Karydis; Brian P. Kelly; Victor Kolade; Santhosh Koshy; Edward Lazarus; Chris Ledbetter; Michael Levin; Donna Lynch-Smith; Dan Martin; Alexander Matthew; Michael McDonald; Ann Michael; Robert Nolly; Elena Parfenova; Susan Patton; Vernon Pennington; Raj Raghow; Cheryl Scott; Merry Sebelik; Jami Smith; Elaine Stegman; Jim Wan; Junling Wang; Russell Wicks; JM (Mack) Worthington

Academic Affairs Representatives: Cheryl Scheid; Cindy Russell

- A. President Cook called the meeting to order at 4:02pm.
- B. Agenda
- 1. Handbook Update
 The Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) is continuing the review.
- 2. Senator of the Year Nomination: Dr. Andrea Elberger Vote to Approve: Unanimous
- 3. Administrator of the Year Nomination: Robert Shreve Vote to Approve: Unanimous
- 4. Faculty Senate Elections
 The move of the Department of Dental Hygiene to the College of Dentistry
 has resulted in the realignment of senators. The College of Health
 Professions, formerly the College of Allied Health will elect a Senator at Large
 for a total of eight senators. Elaine Stegman is working on those elections.

The Department of Dentistry will add a senator.

5. Nominations of Senate Officers

Senators will officially begin in June, along with election of officers. Nominations are requested for President Elect and Secretary/Treasurer.

D. Faculty Senate Committee Reports

Budget and Benefits Committee-Andrea Elberger

The response to the campus after ice storm concerns have been heard and presumably more consideration and planning will take place for a future event. Other issues discussed include: an update on lighting; information on annual costs; and issues of parity and equity with the compensation board.

Clinical Affairs Committee-Ajay Talati

No meeting this month. Last month they discussed the issue of credentialing faculty using back ground checks and licensing non physician individuals. How far back should you go? The Committee is seeking input of what different colleges do. Dr. Scheid recommended a more comprehensive approach be spelled out in appointment letters.

Education and Academic Affairs-

No Report.

Faculty Affairs Committee(FAC)-Terry Cooper

After reviewing the Faculty Handbook in detail, the FAC passed the document to the FSEC to review and comment on the changes. The FSEC supports the 1 and 2 combined version. The FSEC will be meeting with Dr. Scheid to negotiate change.

Faculty Research Committee(FRC)-Chris Waters

The Committee met and discussed topics related to bridge and senate funding, including a program to incentivize and revise criteria. The FRC will discuss, make recommendations to Dr. Pfeffler, and bring it up for a vote.

Faculty Computing Committee-Bob Belland

Dr. Van der Aa informed them of an outside assessment which involved system wide administration. CEOs at different campuses do not like the plan. IT is still dealing with XP software issues. Individual equipment and software repairs are an option. Overall, XP interactions are down from 500 to 200.

<u>Legislative Resource Committee</u>-Matt Allman

No meeting this month.

E. Announcements-

CHECK with payroll for tax advisement.

Cindy Russell asked for suggestions or ideas for new faculty. She provided the URL for the new faculty website: https://academic.uthsc.edu/faculty/new faculty.php

F. President Cook adjourned the meeting at 4.37 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann H. Nolen Secretary/Treasurer UTHSC Faculty Senate