Minutes

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

FACULTY SENATE

June 10, 2014 GEB A204

Members present (n= 44) Matthew Allman; Sarka Beranova; Bob Belland; Lucy Bruijn; George Cook; Terry Cooper; Melody Cunningham; Martin Donaldson; Andrea Elberger; Zheng Fan; Elvira Gosmonova; Brenda Green; David Hamilton; Song Hee Hong; Lisa Jennings; Anastasios Karydis; Victor Kolade; Sajeesh Kumar; Donna Lynch-Smith; Dan Martin; Alexander Matthew; Michael McDonald; Ann Michael; Ann Nolen; Robert Nolly; Susan Patton; Raj Raghow; R.K. Rao; Tim Self; Christina A. Spivey; Cheryl Stegbauer; Ajay Talati; Fridtjof Thomas; Jason Vanatta; Antheunis Versluis; Phyllis Richey; Christopher Waters; Sherry Webb; William Regan; Russell Wicks; Richard Williams; Thad Wilson; Zhaohui Wu; Jie Zhang; Wen Lin Sun

Members absent (n= 44) Anita Airee; Ginna Betts; Ashanti Braxton; Howard Bromley; Steven Buckingham; Eddie Burton; Joseph Callaway; James Christian; Harris L. Cohen; F. Hammond Cole; Robert Craft; Maggie DeBon; Alicia Diaz-Thomas; Heather Draper; Eldon Geisert; Oscar Grandas; Richard Ian Gray; Weikuan Gu; Marie Hatten; Stacey Headley; Mohammad Kashif Ismail; Patti Johnston; Vijaya Joshi; Brian P. Kelly; Santhos Koshy; Edward Lazarus; Chris Ledbetter; Michael Levin; Maurice Lewis; Elena Parfenova; Vernon Pennington; Jeff Phebus; Cheryl Scott; Merry Sebelik; Jami Smith; Pat Speck; Elaine Stegman; Jeff Steketee; Stephanie Storgion; Jim Wan; Junling Wang; Wes Williamson; JM (Mack) Worthington.

Academic Affairs Representatives: 0

Guest: 0

AGENDA UTHSC Faculty Senate Meeting June 10, 2013 Room GEB A204

4:00 PM

Dr. Cook called the meeting to order at 4pm.

A. Approval of Minutes-Minutes were approved for May 13, 2014 B. Vote to accept the 2014 Combined Faculty Handbook. Dr. Cook briefly explained the new version which combined the two part version that was approved at the June 2013 Faculty Senate Meeting, removed conflicting statements in the two parts, added the new 5-point evaluation plan and added a procedure to be followed when chairs and faculty disagree on evaluations. Faculty Senate Minutes June 10, 2014

Vote: Yes = 29 No= 0

Abstain=2

C. Faculty Senate Awards

Faculty Senator of the Year-Andrea Elberger

Administrator of the Year-Robert Shreve

Presidential awards to IT-Tim Florence, Gary Shockley (in absentia), Ebony Smith and Tonya Brown

Certificate of Appreciation-Anne Cole

Plaque recognizing Continuing Service to the Faculty Senate-Jeddie Maxwell

D. Recognition of Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Ann Nolen

E. Recognition of Past President Dr. Thad Wilson

F. Introduction of new Faculty Senate President Dr. Martin Donaldson, and passing of the Faculty Senate Gavel.

G. Service Award presented to George Cook

(Passing the Gavel)-

- A. Continuing Faculty Senate meeting under President Donaldson who:
 - Identified goals for next year.(see attached)
 - Recognized Terry Cooper for his labor intensive faculty handbook contribution
- B. Installation of New Senators President Donaldson recognized
 - President Donaldson recognized and welcomed the new senators.
- C. Elections for President-elect and Secretary/Treasurer President Elect: Thad Wilson Yes= 37 Other (write-in)=0 Abstain=1

Secretary Treasurer-Matt Allman Yes=40 Other (write-in=0 Abstain=0

- D. Unfinished Business
- E. Next Meetings-- FSEC with Chancellor, June 17th; Faculty Senate, September 9(no meeting in July or August)
- F. Adjournment-President Donaldson adjourned the meeting at 4:31pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Ann H. Nolen

Ann H. Nolen, Secretary/Treasurer UTHSC, Faculty Senate