## **Approved Minutes** THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

## FACULTY SENATE

June 14, 2016 GEB A204

Members present (n= 37): Braxton, Ashanti; Brown, Jami; Callahan, William; Choby, Beth; Cook, George; Cooper, Terry; Donaldson, Martin; Fan, Zheng; Hartig, Margaret; Hastings, Coleen; Hohmeier, Ken; Hori, Rod; Howden, Colin; Jain, Vinay; Kedzitrski, Rafael; Kovesday, Csaba; Kumar, Sajeesh; Lowe, Tau; Marion, Tony; Mathew, Alexander; Myers, Dayna; Richey, Phyllis; Schafer, Duane; Self, Tim; Smith, Richard; Steinberg, Helmut; Towbin, Jeffrey; Webb, Sherry; Welch, Jennifer; Williams, Richard; Williamson, Thomas; Wilson, Thad; Land, Mack; McDonough, Sharon; Scroggs, Reese; Thomas, Fridtjof; Versluis, Antheunis

Members absent (n=51): Airee, Anita; Accardo, Dwayne; Boughter, John; Bruijn, Lucy; Buckingham, Steven; Burton, Eddie; Christian, James; Craft, Robert; Diaz-Thomas, Alicia; Elabiad, Tammam; Emerson, Stacy; Flick, Jami; George, Lekha; Grandas, Oscar; Gray, Richard Ian; Gu, Weikuan; Haberman, Brent; Hamby, Ellen; Hamilton, David; Hatten, Marie; Head, Penny; Ismail, Mohammad; Karydis, Anastasios; Kenwright, Kathy; McCoy, Elisha; Ledbetter, Chris; Mutrie, Lauren; Joshi, Vijaya; Koshy, Santhosh; Lazarus, Edward; Levin, Michael; Malakoff, Gary; Martin, Dan; McDonald, Michael; Nelson, Eric; Noyes, William; Phebus, Jeff; Ragain, Jr., Rao, R.K.; James; Rinsdale, Lisa A; Sebelik, Merry; Shafi, Nadeem; Sharp, Jackie; Spivey, Christina; Sun, Wen Lin; Vanatta, Jason; Wang, Junling; Williams, Regan; Williamson, Wes, Wu, Zhaohui; Yates, Ryan; Zhang, Jie

1. Call to order by President Wilson: 4:05 PM

2. Approval of Minutes: The minutes from the May 10<sup>th</sup> Faculty Senate meeting were approved as distributed by email.

3. Presidential Citations were presented by President Wilson to Senators Cooper and Cook for their work with the Faculty Senate in the past year.

4. The Senator of the Year Award was presented to Senator Richey.

5. The Administrator of the Year Award was announced for HR Director Chandra Alston. The presentation will be made later.

6. Passing of the Faculty Senate gavel to President Cooper. President Wilson passed the gavel to President-elect Cooper who presented Wilson with a plaque acknowledging his service as president for the past year.

7. President Cooper called the Annual Business Meeting to order. He began by acknowledging 12 recently elected senators in attendance.

8. Cooper then presented the slate of officers nominated by the Executive Committee. They were: Presidentelect Martin Donaldson, Secretary George Cook and Faculty Council Representative Phyllis Richey. As the FS Procedures Manual states that "neither the current President or the Past-President can be elected Presidentelect", a motion was made to suspend the rules to allow Senator Donaldson to be elected President-elect. The motion passed unanimously by acclamation. Another motion was passed to allow election results to be made electronically rather than by paper ballots.

9. Senator Donaldson's name was placed in nomination. There were no other nominations for President-elect. Donaldson was elected by Turning Point vote of 27 to 0 with opportunities to vote by email for those not in

attendance (final total attendance was 31).

10. Senator Cook's name was placed in nomination for Secretary. No other nominations were made from the floor. Cook was elected by Turning Point vote of 26 to 0 with additional votes to be allowed by email.

11. Senator Richey's name was placed in nomination for Faculty Council Representative (3-year term). She was elected by Turning Point vote of 26 to 0 with additional votes to be allowed by email.

12. President Cooper that in the coming year (beginning in September) the FS agenda for each meeting would be distributed on the Faculty Listserv and invitations to meetings would also be sent by Listserv.

13. The new version of the Cumulative Performance Review will be finished this summer (see May FS meeting for Resolution on CPR). President Cooper asked all senators to send their suggestions to him as soon as possible.

14. The meeting was adjourned at 4:31 PM.

Respectfully submitted, George A. Cook, Secretary, UTHSC Faculty Senate

Upcoming meetings:

FSEC meeting with the Chancellor – September 20th, 8:00 AM in Hyman 101

FSEC and Chairs - October 6th, 8:00 AM in MSB 201

Next Faculty Senate meeting - October 11th, 4:00 PM in GEB A204