## **Minutes**

#### THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

# **FACULTY SENATE**

### September 10, 2013 GEB A204

#### **Members Present (n=44)**

Allman, Matthew; Betts, Ginna; Belland, Bob; Beranova, Sarka; Braxton, Ashanti; Cook, George; Cooper, Terry; Cunningham, Melody; DeBon, Maggie; Diaz-Thomas, Alicia; Elberger, Andrea; Gosmonova, Elvira; Gray, Richard Ian; Green, Brenda; Hatten, Marie; Hong, Song Hee; Jennings, Lisa; Johnstone, Patti; Kolade, Victor; Kumar, Sajeesh; Lewis, Maurice; Martin, Dan; Michael, Ann; Nolen, Ann; Parfenova, Elena; Patton, Susan; Phebus, Jeff; Raghow, Raj; Scott, Cheryl; Self, Tim; Spivey, Christian A.; Speck, Pat; Stegman, Elaine; Storgion, Stephanie; Talati, Ajay; Verluis, Antheunis; Wan Jim; Waters, Christopher; Williamson, Wes; Webb, Sherry; Wicks, Russell; Wilson, Thad; Wu, Zhaohui; and Zhang, Jie

## Members Absent (n=36)

Airee, Anita; Bromley, Howard; Buckingham, Steven; Burton, Eddie; Callaway, Joseph; Christian, James; Cohen, Harris L.; Cole, F. Hammond; Craft, Robert; Draper, Heather; Geisert, Eldon; Grandas, Oscar; Gu, Weikuan; Hamilton, David; Headley, Stacey; Hoover, Robert; Ismail, Mohammad Kashif; Joshi, Vijaya; Karydis, Anastasios; Kelly, Brian P; Koshy, Santhosh; Lazarus, Edward; Ledbetter, Chris; Levin, Michael; Lynch-Smith, Donna; Matthew, Alexander; McDonald, Michael; Nolly, Robert; Pennington, Vernon; Sebelik, Merry; Smith, Jami; Stegbauer, Cheryl; Steketee, Jeff; Wang, Junling; Williams, Richard; and Worthington, JM (MACK);

#### Academic Affairs Representative- Cindy Russell

Faculty Senate President- G. Cook, Presiding

- I. Meeting Began at: 3:12 pm
- II. Approval of Minutes –

The 5/14/2013 meeting minutes were approved with the following change: Change Pres. G Wood to Thad Wilson The 6/11/2013 meeting minutes were approved with the following change: Pres Elect G. Wood to George Cook

III. Faculty Affairs Work Group and Committee on Student and Academic Affairs- V.C ScheidCASA is an informal group started when Dr. Scheid arrived at UT providing an opportunity to share ideas and problem solve. Over time

the group focused on revision and updating of policies, totaling 35 last year. The policies are on the Academic Affairs website. SACS has been driving the policies. CASA sought Senate representation and included the Chair of the Education Committee, Jay Calloway. The associate deans of all the colleges also attend the meetings.

The Faculty Affairs Work Group, chaired by Cindy Russell, meets one time per month and has a policy focus. Members also share ideas and best practice. Faculty Senate representation will be the Chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee, Terry Cooper. Representation from all colleges/campuses is comparable.

IV. Faculty Senate President's Report-G. Cook
The FS agenda will follow the procedures in the Procedure Manual. There
is concern about external access to email address. To keep email private,
a BB site will be used to view minutes, roster of senators, etc.

Over half senators present are new.

- V. Faculty Board of Trustees member report-Thad Wilson serves as the FS representative to the BOT. Initially, he will be a non-voting member, then will undergo training to be a voting member. On Sept. 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> he attended a workshop in Nashville which focused on efforts to improve graduation and retention rate at the undergraduate campuses. Other key points from the meeting were:
  - We want UT to be a top 25 public university. UT slid in US News & World rankings from 46 to 47.
  - As part of the Governor's Drive to 55 Campaign, the goal is to increase the number of state citizens that have a post secondary degree from the current level of 32% to 55%.
  - TN is 49<sup>th</sup> in terms of tax burden per capita
  - The only significant revenue in the foreseeable future is internet tax collection.
  - Massive Open Online Courses, MOOCS, is definitely on the radar here and nationally.
- VI. Nominations and Vote on UTHSC Faculty Representative The FS elected Phyllis Richey elected by show of hands.
- VII. Faculty Senate Committee Goals for 2013-2014

Legislative Resource Committee-

A recommendation was made to focus on the health committees more so than the Shelby County Delegation.

Goals approved.

Remove Bob Beland as ex officio

Faculty Computing Committee-

A recommendation was made to include a goal about security and how it relates to FERPA.

Goals approved.

Faculty Research Committee-Goals approved.

Clinical Affairs Committee-Goals Approved.

#### Education and Academic Affairs Committee-

Formerly the Education Policy Committee, the FS approved the name change. The EAAC Chair will be on CASA. One of the tasks was to provide an option for undergraduates in the Speech and Audiology to have a 3 + 1 degree jointly with UTK and UTHSC. Goals Approved.

#### Faculty Affairs Committee-

A recommendation included this committee taking oversight of metric tools generated from the various colleges. Change last goal to say only Faculty Handbook. Evaluation Manual is included in this.

Goals approved

Recommendation that Cindy Russell be ex officio.

Budget and Benefits-Goals approved. (Currently working on goal one)

#### VIII. Faculty Senate Committee Members

Lists of the FS committees are being finalized. The goal is to have representation from each college on all the committees. A chair is needed for the Clinical Affairs and the Legislative Resource Committees. Cook put out a call for volunteers. (Matt Allman has volunteered to be the Chair of the Legislative Resource Committee) Pres. Thad Wilson will be added to the Faculty Computing Committee.

#### IX. New Business

It was recommended that the FS vote on the time change for the meeting. Clinical faculty have difficulty making the 3:00 pm CST time.

#### X. Next Meeting

The Faculty Senate will meet the second Tuesday of every month. The next Faculty Senate meeting is October 8<sup>th</sup>. The FSEC meets the first

Thursday of the month, and the FSECC meets the third Tuesday of the month.

XI. Adjournment
The meeting adjourned at 4:28 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Ann H. Nolen Faculty Senate Secretary/Treasurer