Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

January 7, 2019

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Lawrence Pfeffer, at 12:05 PM on January 7, 2019, in the Coleman building, Room A101.

Attendance

The following members were present:

Julio F. Cordero-Morales, PhD, Martin A. Croce, MD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Denis DiAngelo, PhD, Mary Peyton Gupta, MD, Rebecca Anne Krukowski, PhD, KU Malik, PhD, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Mark Bugnitz, MD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Larry Reiter, PhD, Reese Scroggs, PhD, Burt Sharp, MD, Claudette Shepherd, MD, Laura Sprabery, MD, Joy Steadman, MD, Jerome Thompson, MD, MBA, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Thad Wilson, PhD, George Cook, PhD

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

Scot Strome, MD, Polly Hofmann, PhD

Approval of minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

Business

Pres. Pfeffer asked Faculty Senate Pres. George Cook to update the DFAC regarding the FOCUS (Focusing on Campus and University Success) advisory committee for UTHSC, enacted by the Tennessee legislature in 2018. It will supplement, not replace, the Board of Trustees. The Act has established a separate advisory board for each of UT's 4 campuses. For each, the governor appoints 5 members, who must be approved by the General Assembly within 90 days of the first meeting. An additional member is a faculty member, and another is to be one student.

Further refinement of the board's requirements holds that the faculty member must be full-time and on IRIS, but not an administrator – more precisely, someone who does not supervise or issue evaluations of other faculty members. Although their exact role is evolving, it is anticipated that the FOCUS boards will have considerable influence on their respective campuses, although their decisions must not conflict with the Board of Trustees' decisions. Dr. Cook indicated that candidates for the faculty position include a number of excellent candidates, and will be chosen tomorrow by the Faculty Senate. The UTHSC FOCUS board's first meeting will be this Thursday, January 10, 2019, in Nashville. Dr. Strome suggested that, since the College of Medicine represents 80% of the UTHSC faculty, the faculty member ought in principle to be a member of the College of Medicine.

The 5 members appointed by Gov. Haslam to UTHSC's FOCUS board are:

- *U.S. District Court Judge Mark Norris, Collierville
- *Michael Ugwueke, president and CEO of Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare, Germantown
- *Vicky Gregg, a principal with Guidon Partners, Chattanooga
- *Dr. Lynn Massingale, co-founder of TeamHealth, Knoxville
- *Dr. Phil Wenk, president and CEO of Delta Dental of Tennessee, Brentwood.

The discussion then turned to efforts regarding non-tenure track faculty. The DFAC committee is now in place and will work toward creating CoM-specific by-laws that will address promotion for non-tenure track faculty in the CoM, consistent with the broader criteria now being created by the Faculty Senate. The DFAC sub-committee includes: Mark Bugnitz, MD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Mary Gupta, MD, Michael Herr, PhD, Jerry Thompson, MD, Joe Willmitch, PA; ex-officio members are Polly Hofmann, PhD, and Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD. Dr. Martin Croce was added to this group.

Dr. Strome proposed that, in this process, emphasis should be placed on academics. Discussion suggested that, although numbers of publications are of course relevant, other metrics such as impact factor (e.g., the "H-index") might also be considered. That said, some fields' journals do not have high impact factors, simply because such fields may be small. Possibly, several different sorts of accomplishment might be recognized, with deference to variations among the different fields found in the CoM. In part, statements of expectations for rank can provide guidance to the chairs and others who exercise discretion as they decide whom to recommend for promotion, and when. DFAC discussion noted the difficulty of balancing appropriate discretion with the adequacy of expectations and with equity across departments. One approach might be to look for regional reputation, at the "assistant" level; for national reputation at the associate level; and international reputation at the full professor level. Moreover, expectations should arguably be different across the three tracks/pathways: education, research, clinical. The Faculty Senate aspires to finish its work by mid-March; and the DFAC's CoM subcommittee hopes to complete it by the end of February. DFAC members and their respective faculties are encouraged to pose any questions, or make any suggestions to this committee.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the committee will be held on February 4, 2019, at 12:00 Noon in the Coleman building, Room A101.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:04 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD Secretary